About FSCO

FSCO was established under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 (FSCO Act) with a legislative mandate set out in the FSCO Act. 
FSCO's legislative mandate is to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the sectors it regulates.


FSCO regulates the insurance sector; pension plans; loan and trust companies; credit unions and caisses populaires; the mortgage brokering sector; co-operative corporations in Ontario; and service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefits claims. FSCO is accountable to the Minister of Finance.

In order to support FSCO’s legislative mandate, the FSCO Act sets out a three-part structure for FSCO, which includes the Commission; the Superintendent of Financial Services and Staff; and the Financial Services Tribunal (Tribunal).

Statutes We Administer


Regulations We Administer


FSCO's Superintendent & Staff



Who We Regulate


As of March 31, 2018, FSCO regulated or registered:
  • 311 insurance companies
  • 6,962 pension plans
  • 81 credit unions and caisses populaires
  • 51 loan and trust corporations
  • 1,152 mortgage brokerages
  • 2,575 mortgage brokers
  • 9,900 mortgage agents
  • 202 mortgage administrators
  • 4,770 accident benefit service providers
  • 1,732 co-operative corporations
  • 55,401 insurance agents
  • 6,031 corporate insurance agencies
  • 1,762 insurance adjusters


​ ​